Land Rover Rolls Out New Classic Experience, Enabling Firsthand Experience With Classic Models

The Land Rover Series I. This iconic vehicle has carried Royal Monarchs and farmers alike. Over time it enjoyed widespread popularity due to its sporting good looks and its off-road capability. Though model names changed, as did pricing and available features, the Series I is the Land Rover that started it all. Here's a history of the evolution of the Series I and the ensuing models it inspired over the years.


  • 1948: Land Rover Series I released. Thoroughly modern in its day, the Defender utilized an ingenious aluminum alloy to conserve on steel - a scarce resource at the time.
  • 1958: Land Rover Series II released, featuring the same prominent"barrel side" styling as the Series I - a features which would eventually become a Land Rover landmark design feature.
  • 1971: Land Rover Series III debuts.
  • 1983: Land Rover One Ten is released, based off of the Series III.
  • 1984: Land Rover Ninety, similar to the One Ten but with a shorter wheelbase, is released.
  • 1991: Land Rover Ninety and One Ten renamed Defender 90 and Defender 110, respectively.
  • 2016: Land Rover Defender is discontinued.


Land Rover Experience Center Heritage Program

In order to celebrate the long, colorful history Land Rover vehicles from the Series I to the Defender have enjoyed, the automaker has unveiled a new "Heritage Program" that allows both longtime Land-Rover fans and new brand enthusiasts alike to get their hands behind the wheel of some of Land Rover's most iconic vehicles. With both half and full day experiences available, the Heritage Experience offers something for a variety of Land Rover fans.

Categories: Social, News


Nothing posted yet.